Become a Codger-Dodger – As the Condo Turns…

Standard

Okay, ladies – this one’s for your eyes only. You heard it here first!

I don’t mean to be disrespectful, but I have it on good authority that, as seniors find themselves alone in their golden years, men are far more likely to be looking for new partners. Woman, on the other hand, seem to settle into their new-found single lives rather nicely. Oh sure, there are lots of lovely December romance stories about love and companionship, but I’m talking about the women out there who have no intention of taking on, and training, yet another man in their lives, let alone an old one.

Tip of the day – Become a codger-dodger

For all you single woman of a certain age who have earned your stripes, and want to continue enjoying your man-free lifestyle, becoming a codger-dodger is an important skill to master. Men are creatures of  habit as they age, so it’s easy to determine their routines. This makes the delicate art of dodging the codgers an easy manoeuvre to learn. 

In my building, there is a gaggle of old guys who share a swim and a hot tub at the same time everyday. Imagine my horror the first time I found myself soaking in a tub with the bunch of them! Another afternoon at the pool, I met an aging Romeo, I have dubbed “The Red Baron.” He was  wearing a tiny red  Speedo swimsuit. (Picture this at your peril.) He stood on the side of the pool flexing something or other – I think it was the wrinkles on his biceps.  Anyway, a few days later, he made googly eyes at me in the hot tub. I don’t go swimming at that time of day any longer either.

So this is how I learned to become a codger-dodger – and I’m married. That just shows you how desperate they can become!  So take a notebook everywhere you go and study their habits closely. Work your routines so they don’t overlap into codger-crossing zones and you can become a codger-dodger too. Just pay attention and have your wits about you at all times. They may be charming and seem harmless at first sight, but deep down, they’re all looking for someone to fry their bacon and wash their underwear. Good luck with all that!

Until tomorrow…these are the days of our lives.

9 responses »

  1. I totally agree with your excellent advice!! I would not even want to wash the bacon and fry the underwear!! But I do hope not to be in the situation as I have spent almost 45 years fine tuning the training of the codger I live with. There is something to be said for long term relationships!!

    Like

  2. I experienced a similar event at the condo pool where we lived for 6 years. Our daughter saw one elderly man in the hot tub in his boxer shorts! 🙀 On the other hand, our elderly aunt enjoyed the company of men in their skivvies at the pool! 😊

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  3. Good advise you condo cutie. Thankfully you added the bit about washing their underwear. For a moment I was getting a visual of a commando codger. Love your posts and keep it up. (The blog that is.)

    Like

  4. Surely there must be a man who wants to write about the widows who are looking for a male companion after driving their husband to an early grave. There must be some of those.

    Like

Leave a Reply

