Mickey’s Back in the Closet

Standard

NewsUPDATE: As you know from my last post, I was having watch problems and resorted to wearing an old Mickey Mouse watch whilst I waited impatiently for the return of my awol timepiece from Birks.

Miraculously, the manager at Birks called me one hour after I posted the blog below. The fact that I notified their head office about the blog post may have played a small part in that call. However, the manager was most apologetic, promised that my watch was alive and well, and said my beloved Tag Heuer and I would be reunited within the week.   And, she added, the battery would be free and she wanted to offer me a $250 Birks gift certificate for my trouble. What?

So I’m happy to tell you that, as of yesterday at approximately 3:57pm,  my watch is back on my arm and Mickey is resting quietly back in the closet. He’s a bit traumatized from the rather jarring experience, but what can you expect from an 85 year-old mouse? I did expect more from Birks, a 134 year old jewellery company. But then again, they did redeem themselves very nicely.

Something to think about: Henry Birks, founder of Birks Jewellers died in April 1928. And in the very same year Mickey Mouse was born in November 1928. Coincidence? I think not!

All’s well that ends well.

Pat Skene…see you between the lines.

10 responses »

    • Not at all Rumple. Mickey was always a first class act, just like Birks where I’ve shopped my whole life. And like Mickey, I’m sure Henry Birks may have worn white gloves in his day. Although, I’m not sure about those clunky yellow shoes.

      Like

  1. Too funny!!! But I’m very happy for you that it all worked out so well, and I’m sure Mickey is too. Now don’t forget your next …was it 5 year? Tune up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

